for four voices (s a t b) and sinfonietta
sinfonietta (fl, ob, cl, bn, hn, tpt, tbn, harp, pi, perc, vln1, vln 2, vla, vc, cb)
duration ca 15 min

“Famna mig,
omslut mig
håll mig”

(Karin R)

“Embrace me,
enclose me
hold me”

(Karin R)

Inte kan jag utan gråt
se ut över havet
sedan mina vänner
sjönk i djupet.
Vidrigt är mig det svarta hav
och den sugande bölja,
vågornas byte
vållar mig sorg.

No I cannot without weeping
Gaze across the sea
Since my friends
Sank to the depths.
How I detest that black sea
and the pull of the crest,
those prey to the waves
cause me grief.

EMBRACE ME was composed for London Sinfonietta.
It was premiered on 16 April 2008 in Queen Elizabeth Hall, London by the London Sinfonietta and Synergy Vocals, conducted by Pierre-André Valade.

The piece is dedicated to those who lost their loved ones in the 2004 tsunami.

– Karin Rehnqvist, February 2008

Previous post BEGINNING
Next post HAYA!